Residents’ Committee

Executive Members:

Stephanie Lim, University of Manitoba, co-chair

Daniel Sisson, Queen's University, co-chair

Gabrielle Gauvin, Queen's University, past co-chair

Gurp Johal, University of British Columbia, past co-chair

Program Representatives:

  • Kristin DeGirolamo, University of British Columbia
  • Tito Daodu, University of Calgary
  • Valentin Mocanu, University of Alberta
  • Melissa Wood, University of Saskatchewan
  • Mellissa Ward, University of Manitoba
  • Erika Allard-Ihala, Northern Ontario School of Medicine
  • Mostafa El-Beheiry, University of Western Ontario
  • Bonnie Shum, McMaster University
  • Wanda Marini, University of Toronto
  • Zuhaib Mir, Queen’s University
  • Laura Baker, University of Ottawa
  • Yasmine Yousef, Université de Montréa
  • Christian-Charles Woumeni-Siyam, Université Laval
  • Mathieu Hylands, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Phil Vourtzoumis, McGill University
  • Ashley Drohan, Dalhousie University
  • Felicia Pickard, Memorial University


  • To unify and represent the interests of all General Surgery residents across Canada
  • To provide an avenue for Resident participation in CAGS’s affairs
  • To provide opportunities for the opinions and concerns of residents to be heard by the CAGS leadership
  • To foster awareness of CAGS and its activities to all General Surgery residents

About the Committee

The goal of the Committee is to represent resident issues at the Canadian Association of General Surgeons. The Committee is also dedicated to facilitating resident involvement in CAGS activities and committees. The Committee hosts a Resident Symposium at the annual CAGS meeting, where speakers are invited to discuss topics germane to Canadian General Surgery residents.