MIS Committee


Dr. Shahzeer Karmali Shahzeer.Karmali@albertahealthservices.ca

Team Leads:

  • Dr. Ashley Vergis
  • Dr. David Pace
  • Dr. Adam Meneghetti
  • Dr. Saamad Malik
  • Dr. Amy Neville
  • Dr. James Ellsmere
  • Dr. Artan Reso
  • Dr. Christopher  Schlachta


  • Education of CAGS members through annual CSF meeting, postgraduate courses
  • Multimedia guidelines regarding training and privileges to perform basic and advanced laparoscopy and flexible endoscopy (original or based on review of guidelines from other specialty organizations, and in communication with clinical practice Committee)
  • Encourage research and development in MIS and Endoscopy; support general surgeons who wish to practice flexible endoscopy
  • Interact with industry to encourage sponsorship of CAGS (in communication with CAGS finance Committee)
  • Hosts and coordinates the national suturing competition, where the finals are held at the CSF every year.
  • Participation in IFSES and the World Congress of Endoscopic Surgery.
  • Liaises with SAGES and partners where appropriate to provide Canadian content

Suturing Competition

Pioneered by Dr. Liane Feldman, the competition is designed for practicing surgeons, surgical residents, medical students and other health professionals who have an interest in technical skills training. The residents representing programs across Canada will participate in this friendly challenge to crown “Canada’s National Champion” in laparoscopic suturing. The competition is designed to promote interest in technical skills training through simulation across Canada. 2017 Suturing competition finals will take place in Victoria September 2017.

Endoscopy Post-Graduate Course

This interactive one-day course is designed by the MIS Committee for practicing surgeons, residents and other health care professionals interested in learning more about endoscopy. It features a four-hour didactic session. The lectures provide education on multiple basic and advanced endoscopic techniques including indications, contraindications, complications, and practical techniques for theses basic and advanced endoscopic procedures. The afternoon will feature a four-hour hands-on skills lab. The hands-on lab will provide participants with an opportunity to practice basic and advanced endoscopic techniques

Eric Poulin Lecture in MIS Surgery and Innovation

In September 2017, the MIS Committee will host a lecture in honour of Dr. Eric Poulin, pioneer in MIS Surgery, at the CSF in Victoria. Dr. Christopher Schlachta will introduce this new named lecture.


The Fellowship Council
Canadian Adv GI MIS Fellowship Interview Schedule